常見問題

常見問題

博恩治療 是一種身體治療技術,採用細緻柔和的推撥手法輕微刺激肌筋膜結締組織及經絡穴位相應的體表部位,以促進休息及整體修復,讓全身放鬆自癒。它是新南威爾斯州癌症委員會推薦的輔助療法之一,以其溫和安全的操作方式、迅速顯著的療效,以及對身體的極少干預而著稱。博恩治療可用於症狀管理、復康支援、平衡身心和保健養生。 

博恩學院院長 Bolliger 醫生講解博恩療法 (英語)

博恩治療有放鬆舒緩和平衡身心的功效,對肢體結構的調整和器官功能的修復都有幫助。博恩治療有助處理的健康問題包括:

  • 肌肉骨骼痛症
  • 神經系統疾病
  • 消化系統疾病
  • 呼吸系統問題
  • 泌尿系統問題
  • 生殖系統問題
  • 內分泌/荷爾蒙問題
博恩治療的歷史和基本原理 (英語)

博恩治療對很多健康問題都有療效,而我們最希望協助改善男性及女性健康、肌肉骨骼問題、神經系統疾病、生理結構及行動障礙、心理及情緒健康問題,以及支援患有奇難雜症或不治之症的人士。我們的病人多數需要處理的問題包括:壓力、疲勞、偏頭痛、消化不良、焦慮症、抑鬱症、月經或荷爾蒙失調、關節炎、纖維肌痛、帕金遜症、脊柱側彎、坐骨神經痛、骨盆傾斜、身體疼痛、肌肉拉傷、肩周炎、網球肘、重複性勞損,以及膝蓋和腳踝問題。

博恩治療適用於各年齡層人士以及各種症狀問題和健康狀況。個人或企業組織都可以從博恩治療得到好處。 

個人服務

無論是男士還是女士,年幼還是年老,活躍還是體弱,嬰兒還是孕婦,每個人都可以從博恩治療中得到益處。

企業服務

對於企業及社團組織而言,博恩治療可用作處理工傷或改善員工福利的政策,為員工提供保健服務,舒緩他們的壓力和緊張,讓其從疲勞中恢復,減輕疼痛以及提高工作效率。

可以從博恩治療中受益的機構組織包括:

  • 醫院
  • 醫療保健中心
  • 護老院
  • 健身中心
  • 災難救援組織
  • 產品生產商
  • 企業組織
  • 體育會所等

在博恩健康中心,我們可以為您提供上門治療服務或團體治療優惠。我們會制定合理的收費標準,與您商議適合您組織需求的日程安排。若閣下對我們的服務感興趣,請瀏覽 企業博恩治療服務 的頁面了解詳情。如想了解我們的治療領域,請點擊 我們的服務.

博恩治療手法細緻溫和而不具侵入性,主張讓身心放鬆、自然修復,而不會使用硬性手段對身體進行矯正。因此,博恩治療可安全用於所有年齡層和健康狀況的人士,包括新生嬰兒、幼童、長者、孕婦及身體嚴重受創的傷者。它是新南威爾斯州癌症委員會推薦的輔助療法之一。 

乳癌 (英語)
兒童治療 (英語)
腦部創傷 (英語)

博恩治療在許多情況下都是有效的,儘管治愈過程取決於很多因素,包括病情的性質和復雜性、存在的時間長短、患者對護理的堅持,以及患者身體對治療的反應能力等。健康的生活習慣一般能加快體質的恢復。 

博恩治療通過筋膜和自主神經系統讓身心同時調節修復。很多接受過博恩治療的病人反饋他們的經驗,包括:深度放鬆、疼痛緩解、身體及活動機能得到改善、精神恢復、壓力水平降低,以及血液循環和淋巴引流被促進等。 

博恩治療的見證分享 (英語)

博恩治療不是按摩,也不等同於任何其他類型的治療技術。

博恩治療的介紹性演示 (英語)

博恩治療與其他治療技術的不同之處在於其手法溫和、療效迅速顯著以及對身體極少干預。博恩治療的特色包括:

整體治療

博恩治療會對整個人體結構進行分析和治療,而不是專注於單一的病徵。它通過自主神經系統被輕微激活後的反應,讓身心放鬆休息並回到平衡狀態,從而緩解因生理及情緒緊張所帶來的問題。面對任何症狀,博恩治療都會尋找根本原因並從整體架構及患者的生活習慣來作考量。 

刻意停頓

博恩治療的操作方式有別於其他治療類型。博恩治療會按照全身的架構、經絡,以及結締組織的連結分佈,利用手指或手肘在特定的筋膜、肌肉、肌腱或神經位置進行細微的推撥,而不一定直接操作在疼痛或緊張的部位。它通常是獨立運作而無需結合其他治療手法。 

博恩治療不會像按摩或其他治療技術對患者的身體不斷進行矯正和刺激,而是會在每組手法動作之間刻意放手停頓,給予足夠時間讓身體靜息放鬆,按其節奏對治療作出反應,以達至自然修復的效果。在這段停頓等候期間,博恩治療師一般會離開房間,以減少對患者的滋擾。

簡約溫和

博恩治療安全溫和,能適用於嬰兒、孕婦和長者。「越少干預,越見其效」是博恩治療的哲學理念,治療簡約到位效果最佳。因此,博恩治療師會按照患者的體質狀況和對治療的反應來衡量治療程序的多寡以及手法動作的輕重,以促進患者休息、恢復及避免負荷過度。博恩治療毋須使用藥膏,並可以在皮膚或輕便寬鬆的衣服上進行治療。 

療效持久

有別於許多刻意或過度干預患者身體的治療技術,博恩治療以協助和配合身體自然修復為宗旨,而不是強迫它作出改變。由於博恩治療重視人體與生俱來的自癒能力,並讓身心有足夠的時間和空間來深入充分地參與在整個治療過程中,因此它的療效通常較為持久。在接受博恩治療後的 10 天內,身體可能會繼續對治療做出反應並進行修復,治療師通常會建議患者在治療後一週內避免接受其他手法治療或過度消耗能量,以免影響治療效果。 

Jessica Hertlein 的介紹性演示 (英語)

博恩治療通過自主神經系統以及身體的其他器官系統發揮作用。要讓神經系統對治療做出反應,治療師需要採用適量和適度的治療方案和治療手法。博恩治療一般會觸及以下幾種機制:

  • 伸展反射

  • 關節本體感受器

  • 筋膜

  • 經絡穴位

  • 淋巴

  • 排毒

  • 諧波振動

專家解釋博恩治療的成效 (英語)

典型的博恩治療會在筋膜、肌肉、神經、肌腱、韌帶和關節上進行一系列細緻溫和的手法操作,以促進緩解肌肉骨骼及相關神經系統的疾病問題。

接受治療前

在接受治療前,治療師會先向您了解病況和病歷,再觀察您的身體結構和測試肢體動作的靈活度。然後,他/她會邀請您躺在治療床上或坐著進行治療。 

接受治療時

當您躺在治療床上時,治療師可能會用毛巾蓋住您的身體,以達到保暖或鎮靜的效果。然後,他/她會開始觸診及治療,在您身體的特定部位以手指或手肘進行小幅度的推撥治療手法。 

為了讓您的身體放鬆並對治療做出反應,在每組手法動作之間都會有等待時間,每次至少兩分鐘。在此等待期間,治療師暫時遠離您的位置或離開房間,以減少對您造成干擾。

接受治療後

治療結束後,治療師會協助您從躺著或坐著的姿勢起來。他/她會詢問您的感受以及您是否觀察到症狀有任何變化,然後給您提供療後建議並處理付款和預約安排。

Andy Eckley 的介紹性演示 (英語)
接受治療時

在治療期間,您可能會進入深度放鬆或入睡。有些人可能沒有覺察身體的反應,而有些人可能會有短暫的刺痛、微震、體熱、體寒、沉重或輕盈等感覺。當您的身體嘗試從長期緊張中放鬆並回復平衡時,便有可能出現上述的感覺。

接受治療後

博恩治療可以在接受治療後 10 天內仍在調整您的身體。在此期間,您可能會感覺到身體不同的部位出現疼痛,舊有症狀短暫復發,或者症狀在緩解之前變得明顯。這些反應在癒合過程中是常見及普遍的,當身體自我調整完畢便會回復正常。

接受博恩治療前後須知 (英語)
首次治療

首次治療大約需要 90 分鐘,包括全面評估及進行首次治療。 

後續治療

後續治療最長需時 75 分鐘,視乎病況症狀及所採用的治療程序。 

嬰兒治療

嬰兒治療適用於 0-3 歲的幼兒,治療時間最長約 20 分鐘,在每組治療手法之間毋須停頓,手法動作亦會比成人較少且更柔和。

門診治療

首次治療 $150
後續治療 $120

上門治療 (以每次計算)

地點離診所 0-10 公里 $250
地點離診所 10-20 公里 $300
地點離診所 20-30 公里 $400

國家殘障保險計劃 (NDIS)

請參閱我們的 NDIS 專頁

*我們另提供長者折扣優惠。

治療次數取決於您的健康狀況。有些症狀可能只需一次治療已經得到舒緩,而大多數問題會在 4 至 6 次治療後得到改善。然而,慢性疾病可能需要較長遠的方案。許多患者選擇定期進行治療保養,以保持身體平衡,避免舊患復發的代價,或作為對健康養生的投資。 

一些不治之症可能需要持續的症狀管理。我們常建議患者先連續三週進行 3 次治療,並觀察治療是否有助於改善他們的情況。如果 3 次治療後仍然沒有任何正面影響,我們會建議他們去看醫生或尋求其他健康專家的協助。

您可以點擊 這裏 進行網上預約,或通過電郵、語音留言或短信方式 聯絡我們 ,我們會儘快回覆您的信息。

如果您需要更改預約時間,請提前至少 24 小時 聯絡我們 ,以便將預約時間讓給其他患者。如果您沒有給予足夠時間通知我們,您可能會被收取 50% 的服務費用。

需要的,但避免過多。我們建議您在治療前 30 至 60 分鐘先吃些食物和白開水。過度空腹或飽腹都可能使您在治療後感到不適,因為您的身體在治療及修復過程中會消耗能量。如果您是在飯後接受治療,請確保您有足夠的時間消化。

在接受第一次治療之前,您需要填寫個人資料、病歷及病況,因此請準備好您的個人信息,以及與您健康狀況相關的報告、掃描和/或藥物資訊等。如果您符合資格享受長者折扣優惠,請攜帶您的新州長者卡 (NSW Seniors Card) 或長者優惠卡 (Senior Savers Card) 並出示給您的治療師。如果您需要報銷 NDIS,請提供您的 NDIS 編號以及您與計劃經理簽署的服務協議 (如您的 NDIS 是計劃管理的)。同時請準備好您的付款方式。

博恩治療可以直接在皮膚上或輕便的衣服上進行。 

如果您選擇在皮膚上進行治療,請穿著合宜的內衣,我們在治療期間會用毛巾覆蓋您的身體。

如果選擇在輕便的衣服上進行治療,請確保您的衣服舒適寬鬆及富有彈性;請避免穿著牛仔褲或其他厚/緊/滑的衣服,因為這些物料可能會影響治療效果。

我們接受信用卡 (Visa 或 MasterCard) 和現金支付。我們不提供零錢找續,如果您選擇現金支付,請準備好全數金額。

可以的,但只提供給 計劃管理 (Plan Management)自行管理 (Self Management) 的 NDIS 參與者。

雖然我們不是註冊的 NDIS 機構,但我們有為 計劃管理自行管理的 NDIS 用戶提供維護治療。我們的客戶認為,博恩治療能有效減輕他們的症狀並改善他們的活動能力,因此使用我們的服務作為他們的 殘疾健康支援。他們採用的基金管理計劃讓他們可以自由並靈活地選擇自己所需要的健康護理服務。

如果您的 NDIS 是計劃管理的,您需要與您的基金經理商議,告訴他們博恩治療如何為您帶來幫助。您的基金經理會負責支付發票,並將您的個人資料和治療選項輸入到 NDIS portal。為避免延誤付款,在我們為您提供服務之前,我們需要確認您已經與基金經理簽署 服務協議 ,並與他們計劃好您的治療安排。

對於自行管理 NDIS 的用戶,當您接受了博恩治療並支付費用後,我們會給您一張收據或發票,您可以憑據向 NDIS 提出 付款要求 ,通過 myplace portal 或者 my NDIS app ,將 NDIS 計劃 預算 中的款項存入您指定的銀行戶口。在一般情況下,您將會在 24 至 48 小時內獲得報銷。

*以上圖片資訊來自 NDIS Facebook 專頁 ,發布於 20/4/2018

與其他 自然療法 (包括自然醫學、順勢療法和運動機能學等) 一樣,博恩治療自 2019 年 4 月 1 日起不再列入私人醫保的索賠範圍內。但是,您可以向 NDIS 報銷,只要您的 NDIS 基金是 計劃管理自行管理的.

有參與新州長者卡活動 ( NSW Seniors Card program 並出示新州長者卡 (NSW Seniors Card) 或長者優惠卡 (Senior Savers Card) 的人士,將從我們的門診標準收費中得到 10% 折扣優惠。長者折扣不適用於優惠套餐及上門治療服務。

脊柱側彎治療優惠旨在鼓勵脊柱側彎患者堅持接受為期七週的治療計劃,以獲得最佳治療效果。博恩治療有一個專為改善脊柱側彎的療程,每個療程會在七週內進行 7 次治療。

治療優惠需預先支付,7 次治療共 $700。如果有未能完成的療程需要退款,那麼,已完成的療程將按照標準收費在退款前從預付金額中扣除。

在接受博恩治療後,患者的身體可能會出現不同的反應。以下是治療後一週內的常規建議:

  • 每坐著30分鐘後,宜起來稍作走動,以保持肌肉靈活性和治療效果。
  • 避免做劇烈運動或強行拉伸的動作,以減少重複受損的可能。
  • 避免讓身體過熱或過冷 (如桑拿、溫泉、熱敷或冰敷等),要給時間讓肌肉及筋膜自然修復。
  • 每天宜喝足夠的溫水,讓細胞、組織及淋巴等有充足的水分滋潤,以促進排毒。
  • 治療師教導的舒緩動作,請從治療後第二天做起。
  • 由於博恩治療對身體進行的調整能持續一星期,因此,建議患者在治療後的五天內避免接受其他物理療法 (如按摩、整骨、針灸等),以免影響治療效果。
  • 博恩治療可能會在治療後一週內的自我修復過程中繼續調整您的身體狀況。在這個階段,您可能會感到疲勞或症狀變得明顯等。這些反應通常是暫時性的,是身體正在進行調整的跡象。如果您不確定您的反應是否正常,可向您的治療師諮詢。

博恩治療沒有常規禁忌,除了以下這些非常特殊的情況: 

  • 懷孕或可能懷孕的女性不應進行尾骨程序 (Coccyx Procedure)。
  • 做過乳房或胸部植入手術的人士不應進行胸部程序 (Chest Procedure)。 
  • 做過顎骨手術的人士,在進行下頜關節程序 (TMJ Procedure) 之前應先了解可能出現的治療反應。 

由於博恩治療的一些治療程序不適用於某些特定的健康狀況 (如上述所列)。因此,向您的治療師提供最新的個人健康資訊十分重要。有必要時,治療師會建議您尋求醫療協助。

博恩治療可能會在治療後一週內的自我修復過程中繼續調整您的身體狀況。在這個階段,有些人並沒有甚麼特殊反應,有些人則可能會感到疲勞、頭痛、體溫升高或短暫寒顫、肌肉收緊、某些部位偶爾疼痛、或情緒波動等。這些反應通常是暫時性的,是身體正在進行調整的跡象。如果您有任何這些經歷,毋須驚慌。若不確定您的反應是否正常,可向您的治療師諮詢。

更多問題?

如果您還有其他查詢,可以下載及閱讀我們的 博恩治療簡介 或在下方給我們留言:

    繁體中文

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Bowen Therapy is a remedial body technique that works on the connective tissues (the fascia) via the muscular and nervous systems to facilitate rest, relaxation and natural self-recovery. It is one of the complementary therapies in Australia recommended by the Cancer Council of New South Wales. It is known by its gentle and safe application, speed of effectiveness, and minimal intervention, and can be used for symptoms management, rehabilitation and general health support. 

‘What is Bowen Therapy’ by Dr Manon Bolliger of Bowen College

Bowen Therapy has a calming effect to the body and mind. It can support a wide variety of health conditions in both structural and organic levels. Some of the most common conditions that Bowen helps include:

  • Musculoskeletal Pain
  • Neurological Disorders
  • Digestive Disorders
  • Respiratory Problems
  • Urinary Problems
  • Reproductive Problems
  • Endocrine/ Hormonal Issues
The History and Rationale for Bowen Therapy by Kelly Clancy

While Bowen Therapy is helpful for a number of health conditions, most of our clients come to us for treatment for stress, fatigue, migraines, indigestion, anxiety, depression, menstrual problems, hormonal imbalance, arthritis, fibromyalgia, Parkinson’s disease, scoliosis, sciatica, uneven pelvis, body aches, sprain or strain, frozen shoulder, tennis elbow, RSI, and knee and ankle problems.

Bowen Therapy can be used on people of all ages for a variety of symptoms and health conditions. Both individuals and corporate organisations can experience its benefits. 

For Individuals

Both men and women, including those who are in their perinatal period, can be supported by the Bowen treatment. Our clients range from neonates to the elderly and from the infirm to professional athletes.

For Organisations

For corporates and organisations, Bowen can be used as a means of addressing workplace injuries or improving workers’ welfare. It helps maintain the health and wellbeing of employees, relieve stress and tension, promote recovery from fatigue, reduce pain and increase work efficiency.

Organisations that can benefit from Bowen may include:

  • Hospitals
  • Healthcare Facilities
  • Age Care Facilities
  • Gyms/ Fitness Centres
  • Disaster Relief Organisations
  • Manufacturing Companies
  • Corporate Businesses
  • Sports Clubs

At Bowen Health Practice, our services can be delivered to an organisation on-site or off-site. A competitive fee structure and specific agreements can be developed to meet organisational needs and schedules. Please visit our Corporate Bowen page or contact us if your organisation is interested in our services.

Bowen Therapy is gentle, non-invasive and non-manipulative, safe to use on people of all ages and stages of health including newborn babies, children, the elderly, pregnant women, and people who are traumatically injured. It is one of the touch therapies recommended by the Cancer Council of New South Wales. 

Bowen and Cancer
Bowen and Children
Bowen and Traumatic Brain Injury

Bowen Therapy is effective in many cases, although the healing journey depends on a number of factors including the nature and complexity of the condition, its length of existence, the client’s commitment to care, and the capacity of the client’s body in response to the treatment. A healthier lifestyle often contributes to a quicker recovery. 

The Bowen treatment engages both the body and mind via the fascia and the autonomic nervous system. Many people report their experience of deep relaxation, pain relief, more optimal body function and movement, recovery of energy, reduced stress level, circulation improvement, and lymphatic drainage after being treated with Bowen Therapy. 

The Power of Bowen Therapy

Bowen Therapy is not a massage and is non-equivalent to any other types of bodywork.

Introductory Demo by Bowen Therapy Professional Association

Bowen Therapy differs from other bodywork modalities by its gentleness, speed of effectiveness, and minimal intervention. Some of the key things that make Bowen Therapy distinctive include:

Holistic Approach

Bowen Therapy works on the entire structure rather than focusing on a single complaint. It addresses the body and the mind via the autonomic nervous system to release both physiological and emotional tension. No matter what symptom you bring in to get treated, Bowen Therapy always looks for the root cause and supports your health holistically. 

Hands On, Hands Off

Bowen Therapy is different to other treatment types in the way the work is done. Bowen often applies gentle and subtle rolling moves over the soft tissues on specific areas of the body, using mainly fingers and not necessarily at the point of pain or tension. It is usually performed as a stand-alone procedure without combining other bodywork techniques. 

Unlike other modalities where the therapist constantly manipulates the client’s body for the duration of the session, Bowen Therapy allows hands-off waiting period in between each set of moves to let the body relax, respond, and release tension at its own pace. The Bowen practitioner often leaves the room or steps away from the client during this waiting period.

Gentle and Minimal

Bowen Therapy is usually very gentle. It makes a safe treatment for everyone including babies, pregnant women and the elderly. Less-is-more, or minimal intervention, is the philosophy of Bowen Therapy by which optimal result is achieved. The practitioner applies just enough hand-moves and pressure to help the client rest and recover without being overloaded. No ointment is needed in a Bowen session and the treatment can be done on skin or through light and loose clothing. 

Lasting Effect

Unlike many treatment types that involve intentional manipulation over the body, Bowen Therapy is all about working with the body rather than forcing it to change. It respects the innate wisdom of the body and uses its own ability to heal. Since the Bowen treatment gives enough time and space for the body and mind to deeply relax and fully engage in the healing process, the remedial effect usually lasts longer. The body may continue to process and respond to treatment for up to 10 days following a Bowen session. 

Introductory Demo by Jessica Hertlein

Bowen works via the autonomic nervous system along with other organ systems in the body. When working directly with the nervous system, it is best to keep the input low and specific. In a Bowen session, the following mechanisms would be engaged:

  • Stretch reflex

  • Joint proprioception

  • Fascia

  • Acupoints

  • Lymphatics

  • Detoxification

  • Harmonic vibration

Experts Explain How Bowen Therapy Achieves Great Health Result

A typical Bowen Therapy treatment involves a series of gentle and subtle hand movements over the fascia, muscles, nerves, tendons, ligaments, and joints in order to promote relief from musculoskeletal and related neurological complaints.

Before Treatment

At the Bowen session, the practitioner will begin with verbal communication to learn about your condition and medical history, followed by observation and assessment. He or she will then invite you to lie on a bodywork table or be seated, whichever is appropriate. 

During Treatment

When you rest on the table, the practitioner may cover your body with towels for warming or calming purpose. He or she will then palpate and apply gentle pressure on specific points of your body, using mainly thumbs and fingers in a small rolling motion. 

There will be waiting times between every set of hand-moves, each for a minimum of two minutes, to let your body relax and respond to the work done. During this waiting period, the practitioner will stand back or leave the room for minimising disturbance.

After Treatment

At the end of session, the practitioner will assist you in rising from the lying or sitting position. He or she will ask about how you feel or if you observe any changes to your symptoms, followed by giving post-treatment advices and handling payment and booking.

Introductory Demo by Andy Eckley
During Treatment

During the treatment, you may drop into deep relaxation or fall asleep. Some people may not feel anything, while some may experience sensations such as tingling, buzzing, heat, cold, heaviness or lightness. These sensations are a normal response when your body is unwinding from long-held tension and trying to rebalance itself.

After Treatment

The work of Bowen Therapy can continue to impact your body for up to 10 days after treatment. During this period, you may feel your pain move around the body, your old symptom(s) returns, or your symptom magnifies before it is relieved. This experience is normal and common as your body starts to realign itself and rectify old compensation patterns. Symptoms will resolve when adjustment is completed.

‘What to Expect from Bowen?’ by Lorna Mair of My Bowen Therapy
First Session

The first consultation takes about 90 minutes to include a full assessment and the initial Bowen Therapy treatment. 

Subsequent Session

The follow-up treatments last up to 75 minutes per session depending on the conditions presented and the procedures to use. 

Baby Session

The Baby Bowen session for 0-3 years old takes up to 20 minutes. There is no waiting time in between the Bowen moves and the pressure on babies is much lighter.

Standard Appointment

Initial (up to 90 mins) $120
Subsequent (up to 75 mins) $90

Baby Bowen (0-3yo)

Per session (up to 20 mins) $40
No waits in between moves

NDIS Participant

Per session (90 mins) $150
Administration fees included

*Discounts available for Seniors Card holders.

Bowen is not necessarily an ongoing therapy. Clients may experience relief after just the first session and significant resolution or recovery within three sessions. The number of treatment required depends on your health condition and most are essentially resolved with 4 to 6 treatments; however, chronic conditions may require more extensive programs. Many Bowen clients have routine maintenance treatments at different intervals to keep their body balance, avoid costly regression and as an investment in their health. 

Some incurable conditions may require ongoing management of symptoms. We often recommend our clients to start with 3 treatments (with a gap of a week in between each) to see if Bowen can bring any positive changes to their conditions. If there is no improvement at all after three sessions, we will advise them to check with the doctor or seek help from other health professionals.

You may book your appointment here via our online booking system, or contact us via email, voicemail or text message (we may not be able to respond immediately but we will contact you to confirm your booking as soon as we can).

If you are unable to keep an appointment, please kindly contact us with at least 24 hours notice so that we can offer this appointment to another patient. 50% of your session fee may be charged if you change or cancel your appointment without sufficient notice.

Yes, but not too much. We recommend you to have some snacks and plain water 30 to 60 minutes prior to your appointment. A stomach that is too empty or too full may make you feel sick after treatment as the healing process stimulated by the Bowen moves consumes your body’s energy. If your appointment is after a meal, make sure you reserve enough time for digestion.

You will need to fill out a client information form on your first visit, so please prepare your personal details plus information about your presenting symptom(s) and/or medical condition(s), including any relevant report, scan and/or medication details. If you are eligible for Seniors Discount, please bring your NSW Seniors Card or Senior Savers Card and present it to your practitioner. If you use our service under NDIS, please provide your NDIS number and the signed Service Agreement with your Plan Manager if your NDIS is plan-managed. Please also prepare your method of payment.

Bowen Therapy can be done directly on skin or through light clothing. 

If you choose to be treated on skin, please wear modest underwear. You will be covered with towels during the treatment.

If treated through light clothing, please ensure your clothing is comfortably loose and/or stretchy. Please avoid wearing jeans or other thick/ tight/ slippery materials as these may affect the effectiveness of treatment.

We accept cards (Visa and MasterCard only) and cash payments. We do not bring changes to our practice so please prepare the exact amount if you choose to pay in cash.

Yes, for Plan Management and Self Management NDIS participants only.

Although we are not registered NDIS provider, we have worked with plan-managed and self-managed NDIS funded clients as their maintenance therapists. Our clients have found Bowen Therapy helpful for reducing their symptoms and improving their level of functioning. They use our service as their disability-related health support, and their management plans allow them to have the freedom and flexibility to choose and organise their own maintenance care providers.

If your NDIS is plan-managed, discuss with your plan manager and tell them how Bowen Therapy has supported you. Your plan manager will pay all invoices and are responsible for entering your details into the NDIS portal. To avoid any payment delay, we need to know you have signed a service agreement and started working with your Plan Manager before we provide our service.

For self-managed NDIS participants, once you have received and paid for your Bowen Therapy service, we will give you a payment receipt or send you a tax invoice, and you can make a Payment Request through the myplace portal or the my NDIS app to have the money from your NDIS plan budget paid into your nominated bank account. You will be reimbursed within 24 to 48 hours normally.

*These images are from the NDIS Facebook Page released on 20/4/2018

Along with other Natural Therapies including Naturopathy, Homeopathy, and Kinesiology, Bowen Therapy could no longer be claimed on private health insurance since 1 April 2019. You may, however, claim NDIS if your funding is plan-managed or self-managed.

Seniors who participate in the NSW Seniors Card program and present with a NSW Seniors Card or Senior Savers Card will receive $10 discounts from our standard appointment rates.

We offer a Scoliosis Package Special to encourage people who have scoliosis to commit to a 7-consecutive-week treatment program for the most optimal outcome. Bowen Therapy has a specific plan for scoliosis that takes 7 weeks for each cycle.

The package is paid upfront with a bundle of 7 sessions for $560. If a refund for the incomplete session(s) is required, the completed session(s) would be charged at standard rates and deducted from the upfront amount prior to refund.

Clients are recommended to follow the advices below within a week after a Bowen session:

  • Stand up and move every half hour sitting
  • Avoid contact sports or strenuous exercise
  • Avoid the extreme of heat or cold, e.g. sauna, spa, hot or cold pack
  • Drink enough water to keep the muscle and connective tissues hydrated
  • Start the exercise given by the practitioner (if any) the day after treatment
  • Schedule other bodywork treatment (if any) at least 5 days apart from your Bowen session to avoid mutual interference
  • You may feel fatigue or symptoms may increase the first few days after treatment. This is common and indicates that the body is engaged in the healing process. If any concern, please contact your practitioner.

There are no general contra-indications for Bowen Therapy except for a few very specific cases: 

  • Women who are pregnant (or likely to be) should not have the Coccyx procedure.
  • Those who have had breast or pectoral implants should not have the Chest procedure. 
  • People with extensive dental restoration should take this into account before the TMJ (jaw) procedure. 

You should provide your Bowen practitioner with a current health profile. Your practitioner would suggest you to seek medical support when appropriate.

Bowen Therapy may initiate a structural correction during the healing process. Occasionally, some people may experience sensations such as fatigue, headaches, heat or brief shivers, stiffness, occasional sharp pain, or emotional feelings. Such reactions are usually brief and are positive signs that the body is undergoing necessary adjustment. There is no cause for alarm if you have any of these experience. If you are uncertain, please contact your practitioner.

Got More Questions?

If you have any further enquiry, you may download our Bowen Therapy Factsheet for more information or send us a message below:

    English (Australia)