基督徒答問

與信仰相關的疑問

我們收到關於博恩治療是否與新紀元運動有關的詢問。這是一個很好的問題,因為它提醒我們要小心任何可能與我們的信仰相抵觸的事情。我們應該提防自己進入不可知論、自我中心和自給自足的假想中。

雖然對這個問題的簡短回答是“否”,但我們最好能了解兩者沒有關聯的原因。下面我們將從三個方面去解釋為什麼博恩治療不是新紀元運動的一部分: 1. 今天的博恩治療培訓課程; 2. 博恩治療的歷史; 3. 我們的信念和使命。

1. 博恩治療培訓課程

今天在澳洲的官方博恩治療課程是被國家認可的 (10846NAT10847NAT),這意味著培訓課程是遵循澳洲高等教育標準。我們需要符合與其他物理療法相似的課程要求,包括完成解剖學及生理學、案例研究及分析、法律與道德規範、​​職業健康及安全、控制感染、急救訓練、技能培訓以及實習記錄。

博恩治療專注於人體的結締組織和神經肌肉系統,這些組織和系統影響著我們身體的各個部位。治療過程會在筋膜、肌肉、神經、肌腱和韌帶上進行一系列溫和而細微的手法操作,而治療師的工作是促進患者休息和放鬆,以便通過其身體的自癒機制來緩解症狀;這種通過放鬆休息而自癒的現象是生物學的基本原理。官方的培訓及教材並不涉及任何宗教或靈異的元素。

2. 博恩治療的歷史

博恩治療是以已故的湯姆·博恩先生 (Tom Bowen) 的名字命名,由他的學生 Oswald Rentsch記錄他的工作,並從 1986 年開始教授他的技術,以及將博恩治療從澳洲推廣到世界各地。Tom 和 Ossie 都是以耶穌為救主的基督徒。

博恩先生是一位熱心的救世軍成員,他曾經營救世軍男孩之家。他從來沒有將他的治療成果歸功於自己,而是經常對人說 “這是上帝的禮物”。有很多人為博恩先生的治療成效做了見證,我們相信他有從聖靈而來的 “醫治恩賜”,如哥林多前書 12 章 9 節所述。

據我們所知,Ossie 也會向他的學生傳耶穌基督的福音,並在他教授博恩治療時將成果歸功於我們的造物主,雖然不是每個學生都願意信仰基督。儘管如此,博恩治療的操作和療效是基於人體解剖學和生理學的,這與其他物理療法的基本依據相同。

3. 我們的信念和使命

作為基督徒,我們不會將博恩治療取代主耶穌基督的福音。我們確信我們真正的盼望和救贖只在基督裡,我們完全的醫治亦只有在主耶穌再臨或我們在天家遇見祂時才會發生。祂是道路、真理、生命;若不藉著祂,沒有人能到父那裡去 (約翰福音 14 章 6 節)。

作為博恩治療師,我們的使命是為有需要的人提供健康支援。如果我們手所作的工有甚麼成效,我們便將榮耀歸給使用我們的主,因為我們深信:「若不是耶和華建造房屋,建造的人就枉然勞碌。若不是耶和華看守城池,看守的人就枉然警醒。」(詩篇 127 篇 1 節) 如果您有興趣,可以閱讀 我們的歡迎辭 ,這是我們寫給客戶和來訪的朋友的。

結語

如果您曾有上述的疑問,我們希望以上的分享對您有幫助。如果您有任何屬靈上的顧慮,我們給您卑微的建議是:找一位與您有共同信仰,並且讓您感覺平安的治療師為您治療。

如果您有任何其他疑問,歡迎 聯絡我們 或在下方給我們留言:

    繁體中文

Christian Q & A

A Faith Question From A Keen Christian

We have received an enquiry from a keen Christian who wants to know whether Bowen Therapy has anything to do with the New Age movement. It is a great question to ask because it reminds us of being careful about any practice that may contradict our faith. We should beware of being agnostic, egocentric and self-sufficient.

While the short answer to this question is “No”, it is good to know for what reasons they are not related. In the following, we will explain why Bowen Therapy is not part of the New Age movement in three ways: 1. The Bowen Therapy Training Today; 2. The History of Bowen Therapy; and 3. Our Practice and Beliefs.

1. Bowen Therapy Training

The official Bowen Therapy courses in Australia today is Nationally Recognised (10846NAT & 10847NAT), which means the training programs follow the Australian standard for tertiary education. We need to meet similar course requirements as other physical therapies do, which include the completion of Anatomy & Physiology, Research & Case Studies, Legal & Ethical Compliance, WHS, Infection Control, Provide First Aid, Practical Modules plus a record of Logbook practice hours.

The Bowen treatment focuses on the soft connective tissues and the neuromuscular system that impact every part of our body. It involves gentle cross-fibre manoeuvres over the fascia, muscles, nerves, tendons, and ligaments. The role of the Bowen Therapist is to facilitate rest and relaxation so that symptoms may relieve via the body’s own healing mechanism, as human biology explains. There is no religious or spiritual attachment to the official trainings and course materials.

2. History of Bowen Therapy

Bowen Therapy was named after the late Thomas Ambrose Bowen (1916-1982) by his student, Oswald Rentsch, who documented Tom’s work and began teaching his technique in Australia and worldwide since 1986. Both Tom and Ossie are protestant Christians who had received Jesus as their Saviour and Lord.

Tom was a keen Salvationist who ran a Salvation Army Boys’ Club in his days. He never credited the healing success to himself but frequently stated that it was a “gift from God”. With many testimonies and evidence of people’s health being restored through what Tom did, we believe he had a “gift of healing” by the Holy Spirit as mentioned in 1 Corinthians 12:9.

To our knowledge, Ossie also would tell his students the gospel of Jesus and give credits to our Creator God for the Bowenwork while he was teaching – although not every student shares the same faith as we do. Nonetheless, the way the Bowen technique works is simply based on the anatomy and physiology of the human body, as other physical therapies would follow.

3. Our Practice and Beliefs

In our practice, we do not promote Bowen Therapy to the point that would supersede the gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ. We are certain that our true hope and salvation is in Christ alone and our full restoration only happens when He returns or when we meet Him in Heaven. He is the Way, the Truth, the Life; no one comes to the Father except through Him (John 14:6).

Our mission, as Bowen Therapy practitioners, is to provide health support for people who are in need. If there is any success with the work of our hands, we praise the Lord for using us, for we are convinced that “Unless the Lord builds the house, the builders labour in vain. Unless the Lord watches over the city, the guards stand watch in vain.” (Psalm 127:1) If you are interested, you may read Our Welcome Message to our clients and our visiting friends.

Conclusion

We hope you find the above information helpful if you have had the same question before. Should you have any spiritual concerns, our humble advice for you is to find a practitioner who shares the same faith as yours and with whom you feel comfortable to have your treatment.

If you have any further enquiry, please feel free to contact us or send us a message below:

    English (Australia)