博恩治療是甚麼

博恩治療

博恩治療 是由澳大利亞已故的湯姆·博恩先生 (Tom Bowen) 於 1950 年代開發的一種身體治療技術,是一個動態的肌肉與結締組織治療系統,通過筋膜及自主神經傳遞信息來舒緩疼痛緊張、調整人體架構和修復內在機能。博恩治療能處理由急性損傷或慢性健康問題引起的生理及情緒狀況,讓身心回復平衡狀態。

與其他使用硬性矯正手法的治療相比,博恩治療不會強行操作,而是通過最少的外部干預來促進身體休息並自然修復。博恩治療可以用作傳統醫學的輔助補充,以溫和且非侵入性的方式來管理症狀及處理其可能的根源問題。

基於其溫和的特性,博恩治療適用於各年齡層及體質,包括嬰兒、老人、孕婦及職業運動員。博恩治療被廣泛用於緩減病況惡化和保健預防,以及加速受傷或手術後的康復過程。它可以在輕便寬鬆的衣服上進行,無需在身上塗抹精油或膏藥。

博恩治療有別於按摩或任何其他治療技術。它的獨特之處在於其治療手法溫和、療效迅速顯著、重視整體平衡,以及對身體進行極少的干預。現時,博恩治療已發展到全球約 59 個國家和地區,有了完善的培訓系統和專業認可。

湯姆 · 博恩 (1916-1982)

治療過程

博恩治療通過筋膜和自主神經系統讓身心同時調節修復。很多接受過博恩治療的病人反饋他們的經驗,包括:深度放鬆、疼痛緩解、身體及活動機能得到改善、精神恢復、壓力水平降低,以及血液循環和淋巴引流被促進等。

典型的博恩治療會在筋膜、肌肉、神經、肌腱和韌帶上進行一系列溫和而細微的手法操作,以促進緩解肌肉骨骼及相關神經系統的疾病問題。博恩治療在每組手法動作之間會給予患者數分鐘的靜息時間,讓其大腦作出反應,引導身心機能自動調節。在這段期間,為了減少對患者的干擾,治療師可能會離開房間。

首次治療大約需要 90 分鐘,包括全面的健康評估和初次博恩治療。跟進治療每次最多 75 分鐘,視乎身體的狀況和所需用的治療手法。0-3 歲的嬰兒治療通常需要 20 分鐘左右。

博恩治療不一定需要持續進行。患者可能在第一次治療後症狀已經緩解,或在三次治療內病況大幅度改善或得到恢復。然而,慢性或長期病症以及反覆受傷可能需要額外的治療。倘若經過三次治療仍無任何改善跡象,治療師會建議患者去諮詢醫生或尋求其他健康專家的協助。

為達到最理想的治療效果,建議患者先接受三次治療,每次相隔一周。治療師會根據患者的身體狀況和變化來判斷是否需要額外的治療,以及每次治療相隔的時間。一般來說,急性損傷能在四次療程內得到恢復;而慢性疾病所需的調養時間和治療次數則較多。許多患有如柏金遜症等長期慢性病的人士發現,定期接受博恩治療對他們有很大益處。

博恩先生為病人作治療

治療原理

關於能讓博恩治療帶來顯效的操作原理,有許多理論。除了前面提及的 "經由自主神經系統來恢復平衡" 外,博恩治療的手法組合還會通過神經及內分泌系統激活以下機制,讓身體自我修復:

  • 伸展反射:博恩治療大多數動作是在神經接收器的所在位置上進行,包括肌肉的起點、止點或肌腹,從而讓神經系統了解肌腱組織的張力、長度或伸展狀態。當這些接收器在博恩手法的輕微 "推壓" 和 "滾動" 過程中受到刺激,肌肉的疼痛、痙攣及內部循環便會發生改變。
  • 關節本體感受器:圍繞關節進行的所有動作都會直接影響富含本體感受器的關節囊及韌帶。同樣,神經系統會受到刺激,令關節機能自動調整,回復正常狀態,而無需使用硬性手段來矯正。 研究證實 ,博恩治療有助改善受限關節的靈活性。(參見Carter,Bernie,2002年 "肩周炎患者的博恩治療體驗",《護理及助產士的輔助療法》,第8卷,第204-210頁)
  • 筋膜:每一個博恩治療的動作都是在筋膜表面上進行,並會影響筋膜與動員的神經、肌肉或肌腱之間的關係。筋膜在肌肉協調、姿勢調整,以及整體結構和功能完整性中起主要作用,這些功能都會在筋膜變硬、收縮、扭傷或脫水時受到負面影響。在博恩療程之後,經常能看到緊合的肌筋膜得到鬆弛,受傷的組織得以軟化,以及姿勢和活動性能得到改善,這些改變都不是通過強力推動或刻意拉伸來處理的。
  • 節段性內臟及脊柱反射:有好幾組博恩治療的動作能夠促進這些反射。它們會通過刺激皮膚、肌肉和神經,對內臟產生相應的反應。
  • 諧波振動或共振模型:博恩治療的手法能夠令神經及肌肉組織產生振動反應,使身體恢復平衡與和諧。
  • 淋巴:部分博恩治療的動作是通過淋巴引流來刺激免疫系統。
  • 排毒 :器官及循環系統的排毒通常是在博恩療程期間自發的,細胞功能亦會因此被提高。
Fascial System Sample
筋膜系統範本

治療程序

博恩治療一般涉及一個或多個“程序”,每個程序都包含幾組“手法動作”。在每組手法動作之間,治療師會暫停幾分鐘,讓患者的身體對治療做出反應。當患者的神經系統開始調整肌肉的張力時,就可以繼續進行下一組手法動作。 

博恩療法常見的治療過程是從下背部到上背部,然後到頸部的放鬆舒緩作為治療基礎,藉此平衡整個身體。為了減少干擾患者休息,治療師會先完成所有需要患者俯臥的治療程序,然後再讓他們翻身進行仰臥的程序。有些程序可能會在患者坐著或站著的情況下完成。

博恩治療有大量可以選擇使用的程序。然而,在每次治療中,治療師只能選取一小部分來應用,要取決於患者當時的病況、症狀,以及其身體對博恩治療所作出的反應。有些程序在使用之前需要先完成其他程序,而這些程序不一定能在同一次治療中全部進行。因此,患者每次治療可能會有不同的體驗。

常用的程序可能包括但不限於:

博恩基礎舒緩
  • 下背部程序
  • 上背部程序
  • 頸部程序
頭部及頸部
  • 頭部程序
  • 上呼吸道程序
  • 鼻竇部位程序
  • 下頜關節程序
  • 眼部程序
  • 咽喉程序
  • 腦震盪方案
胸部及軀幹
  • 胸腔程序
  • 菱形肌程序
  • 迷走神經程序
  • 胸骨程序
  • 胸肌程序
  • 痙攣程序
  • 呼吸系統程序
  • 食道程序
  • 膽囊程序
  • 腎臟程序
  • 肚臍程序
  • 結腸程序
  • 腹部程序
  • 膀胱及前列腺程序
  • 迴盲瓣方案
肩部及上肢
  • 肩部程序
  • 二頭肌程序
  • 三頭肌程序
  • 肘腕部程序
  • 上斜方肌程序
  • 手臂程序
  • 拇指程序
  • 手指舒緩
  • 大圓肌舒緩
  • 棘下肌舒緩
臀部、骨盆及下肢
  • 盆骨程序
  • 骶骨程序
  • 坐骨神經程序
  • 尾骨程序
  • 腰肌程序
  • 股薄肌程序
  • 大腿筋程序
  • 股四頭肌程序
  • 膝關節程序
  • 踝關節程序
  • 錘趾程序
  • 灼燒足跟程序
  • 拇囊炎程序
  • 臀部疼痛程序
  • 小便失禁程序
  • 會陰部程序
  • 滑囊炎程序
  • 腳部寒冷程序
  • 懷孕期程序
  • 恥骨聯合舒緩
  • 內收大肌舒緩
  • 腰肌舒緩
  • 臀肌舒緩
  • 髂肌舒緩
  • 足部伸展
常見健康問題

更多資訊

想了解更多關於博恩治療的信息,包括博恩的治療過程以及治療前後須知,請瀏覽我們的 常見問題 頁面或下載我們的 博恩治療簡介 或者 博恩治療概覽

繁體中文

What Bowen Is

Bowen Therapy

Bowen Therapy is a remedial body technique developed by the late Thomas Ambrose Bowen in Australia in the 1950s. It is a dynamic system of muscle and connective tissue therapy that works both structurally and organically via the autonomic nervous system (ANS). It addresses the physiological and emotional conditions caused by acute injuries or chronic health issues.

In contrast to other hands-on modalities where manipulative techniques are used, Bowen Therapy does not force changes but facilitates the body to rest and repair itself with minimal external intervention. It is complementary to conventional medicine with a gentle and non-invasive approach to manage both the presenting symptoms and their possible causes.

Due to its very gentle nature, Bowen Therapy is safe to use on people of all ages and most conditions, including infants, the elderly, pregnant women, and professional athletes. It is widely used for slowing down the decline of health, preventing illnesses, and accelerating the rehabilitation process after an injury or surgery. It can be performed on light and loose clothing without applying ointment.

Bowen Therapy differs from other bodywork modalities by its gentleness, speed of effectiveness, and minimal intervention. It is a wholistic and unique technique non-equivalent to a massage or any other treatment types. To date there are some 59 countries and regions around the world that have well established Bowen Therapy trainings and practices.

Tom Bowen (1916-1982)

The Bowen Treatment

The Bowen treatment engages both the body and mind via the fascia and the autonomic nervous system. Many people report their experience of deep relaxation, pain relief, more optimal body function and movement, recovery of energy, reduced stress level, circulation improvement, and lymphatic drainage after being treated with Bowen Therapy.

A typical Bowen treatment consists of sequences of small moves at varying pressures, each at a specific site on the body. The treatment is pleasant to receive – the therapist uses gentle cross-fibre manoeuvres over the fascia, muscles, nerves, tendons, and ligaments to promote relief from musculoskeletal and related neurological complaints. Intentional pauses between each set of moves are applied to let the body relax, process, and respond to the work done. During this time, the therapist may leave the room for a minimum of two minutes before commencing the next sequence of moves.

The first consultation takes about 90 minutes to include a full assessment and the initial Bowen Therapy treatment. The follow-up treatments last up to 75 minutes per session depending on the conditions presented and the procedures to use. Baby Bowen session for 0-3 years old usually takes around 20 minutes.

Bowen is not necessarily an ongoing therapy. Clients may experience relief after just the first session and significant resolution or recovery within three sessions. However, chronic or long-standing conditions or repeat injury may require additional treatments. If no improvement is indicated after three treatments, the therapist would advise the client to see a doctor or seek help from other health professionals.

For the most favourable outcome, an initial block of three sessions with a gap of a week in between each is recommended. Additional treatment and frequency will be discussed between the therapist and the client according to the client’s condition. In general, the more long-standing an issue is, the more time is needed for the body to rest and recover. Many people with long term chronic conditions such as Parkinson’s Disease find benefits from attending regular Bowen treatments as part of their continuing treatment plan.

Tom Bowen's Treatment

The Bowen Mechanisms

There are many theories about the physiological mechanisms by which the Bowen Technique brings about the results for which it is famous. In addition to the rebalancing of the ANS, the Bowen moves and procedures may reset the body to heal itself by activating, through the nervous and endocrine systems among others, the following mechanisms:

  • Stretch reflex: Most moves are done either at the origin, insertion or belly of muscles where receptors are located, informing the nervous system on the state of tension, length or stretch in the musculotendinous tissue. These receptors are stimulated during the ‘challenge’ and the ‘rolling’ part of the Bowen move which changes the stimulus received by the nervous system. This can change a pain/muscle spasm loop.
  • Joint proprioceptors: All moves done around a joint directly affect the joint capsule and ligaments that are richly innervated with proprioceptors. Here again, stimulus will be received by the nervous system, inviting normalisation of the joint function without the need for forceful manipulation. Research (Carter, Bernie, 2002, ‘Clients experiences of frozen shoulder and its treatment with Bowen technique’, Complementary Therapies in Nursing and Midwifery, v. 8, pp. 204-210) has confirmed increases in the range of motion in restricted joints.
  • Fascia: Each Bowen move is done at the level of the superficial fascia and affects the relationship between the fascia and the nerve, muscle or tendon being mobilised. Fascia plays a major role in muscle co-ordination, postural alignment, and overall structural and functional integrity. All of these are negatively affected when the fascia stiffens, contracts, torques, or dehydrates. Following a Bowen session it is not uncommon to see adhesions loosen up, scar tissue soften, and posture and mobility improve without harsh mobilisation or stretching.
  • Segmental viscerosomatic spinal reflexes: Several Bowen moves engage these reflexes. They produce referred reactions to the internal organs through stimulation of the skin, muscles, and nerves.
  • Harmonic vibration or resonance model: The Bowen moves set up vibrational patterns which bring the body back into balance and harmony.
  • Lymphatics: Some Bowen procedures activate draining of the lymphatic system stimulating the immune system.
  • Detoxification is often initiated during a Bowen session, thereby improving the body’s ability to function at a cellular level.
Fascial System Sample
Fascial System Sample

The Bowen Procedures

A typical Bowen Therapy session involves one or more ‘procedures’, each of which consists of several sets of ‘moves’. Between each set of moves, the practitioner pauses for as many minutes as are needed for the client’s body to begin responding. When the nervous system begins to adjust the tension level in the muscles, the client is ready for the next set of moves. 

A common approach in a session is to balance the entire body by addressing the lower back, then the upper back, and then the neck. To minimise disturbance to the client’s rest, all procedures that require the client to lie face down would be completed before having them turn over for the procedures that are done face up. Some procedures may be done with the client sitting or standing.

Bowen Therapy has a large pool of procedures to select. Only a few, however, would be applied in a session – depending on the client’s condition and the way the body responds to the Bowen moves. Some procedures require other procedure(s) to be prerequisite and may not be performed in the same session. Clients may, therefore, have different treatment experience at different appointments.

Procedures commonly used may include but are not limited to:

Bowen Relaxation Moves
  • Lower Back Procedure
  • Upper Back Procedure
  • Neck Procedure
Head and Neck
  • Head Procedure
  • Upper Respiratory Procedure
  • Sinus Procedure
  • TMJ Procedure
  • Eye Procedure
  • Throat Move
  • Concussion Protocol
Thoracic and Trunk
  • Thoracic Procedure
  • Rhomboids Procedure
  • Vagus Nerve Procedure
  • Sternal Procedure
  • Chest Procedure
  • Cramp Procedure
  • Respiratory Procedure
  • Oesophagus Procedure
  • Gallbladder Procedure
  • Kidney Procedure
  • Navel Procedure
  • Colon Procedure
  • Abdominal Procedure
  • Bladder and Prostate Procedure
  • Ileocaecal Valve Protocol
Shoulder and Upper Limb
  • Shoulder Procedure
  • Biceps Procedure
  • Triceps Procedure
  • Elbow and Wrist Procedure
  • Upper Trapezius Procedure
  • Forearm Procedure
  • Thumb Procedure
  • Bowen Moves on Fingers
  • Teres Major Release
  • Infraspinatus Release
Hip, Pelvis and Lower Limb
  • Pelvic Procedure
  • Sacral Procedure
  • Sciatic Procedure
  • Coccyx Procedure
  • Psoas Procedure
  • Gracilis Procedure
  • Hamstring Procedure
  • Quadriceps Procedure
  • Knee Procedure
  • Ankle Procedure
  • Hammer Toe Procedure
  • Burning Heel Procedure
  • Bunion Procedure
  • Buttock Pain Procedure
  • Bedwetting Procedure
  • Perineal Procedure
  • Bursitis Procedure
  • Procedure for Cold Feet
  • Procedures for Pregnancy
  • Pubic Symphysis Release
  • Adductor Magnus Release
  • Lumbar Release
  • Gluteal Release
  • Iliacus Release
  • Foot Stretch
Common Health Problems

Further Information

For more information about Bowen Therapy, including what a Bowen session looks like and what you need to know before and after a treatment, please visit our FAQ page or download our Bowen Therapy Factsheet or the Bowen Therapy Summary from the Government’s Health Channel.

English (Australia)