治療須知

接受治療前

以下是關於在接受博恩治療前需要了解和準備的資訊指南:

需要帶備甚麼

在接受第一次治療之前,您需要填寫個人資料、病歷及病況,因此請準備好您的個人信息,以及與您健康狀況相關的報告、掃描和/或藥物資訊等。如果您符合資格享受 長者優惠,請攜帶您的新州長者卡 (NSW Seniors Card) 或長者優惠卡 (Senior Savers Card) 並出示給您的治療師。如果您需要報銷 國家殘障保險計劃 (NDIS),請提供您的 NDIS 編號以及您與計劃經理簽署的服務協議 (如您的 NDIS 是計劃管理的)。同時請準備好您的 付款方式.

需要穿著甚麼

博恩治療可以直接在皮膚上或輕便的衣服上進行。如果您選擇在皮膚上進行治療,請穿著合宜的內衣,我們在治療期間會用毛巾覆蓋您的身體。如果選擇在輕便的衣服上進行治療,請確保您的衣服舒適寬鬆及富有彈性;請避免穿著牛仔褲或其他厚/緊/滑的衣服,因為這些物料可能會影響治療效果。

需要注意甚麼

我們建議您在治療前 30 至 60 分鐘先吃些食物和白開水。過度空腹或飽腹都可能使您在治療後感到不適,因為您的身體在治療及修復過程中會消耗能量。如果您是在飯後接受治療,請確保您有足夠的時間消化。 您可以從我們的 常見問題 中找到各項與博恩治療相關的信息,包括 博恩治療是如何進行的 ,以及 治療期間及治療後可能出現的感覺 。到訪接受治療前,請先細閱有關資訊。

接受治療後

在接受博恩治療後,您的身體可能會出現不同的反應。以下是您在治療後應該做什麼和不做什麼的建議: 

可能出現的反應

博恩治療可能會在治療後一週內的自我修復過程中繼續調整您的身體狀況。在這個階段,有些人並沒有甚麼特殊反應,有些人則可能會感到疲勞、頭痛、體溫升高或短暫寒顫、肌肉收緊、某些部位偶爾疼痛、或情緒波動等。這些反應通常是暫時性的,是身體正在進行調整的跡象。如果您有任何這些經歷,毋須驚慌。若不確定您的反應是否正常,可向您的治療師諮詢。

適量走動

為協助康復過程,請定時活動身體以保持肌肉柔韌性,並且每次坐著的時間不要超過 30 分鐘。您可以每天進行一些短而溫和的步行 (最好在平坦的地面上以確保骨盆對齊。) 在您走動時,嘗試平衡身體以減少再次受傷的機會。 

水份攝取

充足的水份攝取以滋潤肌肉和結締組織是促進治療後恢復的重要部分。成人每日的建議攝取量約為 2 公升 (對於體能消耗較多或長時間暴露在高溫環境中的人士,水份攝取量需適度增加;對於兒童或患有無法有效排出體內水份的疾病,如慢性腎病、肝病、心力衰竭等,水份攝取量則需按自身狀況進行調整)。請注意:壓力、空調,以及喝茶、咖啡或酒精都會導致身體的水份流失。 

極端溫度

治療後至少 48 小時內請避免讓身體過熱或過冷 (例如使用桑拿、水療、熱水淋浴、電熱毯、熱敷/冰敷、冰塊等),因為極端溫差可能會影響自癒過程。如果您感到酸痛或疼痛,請不要使用致熱膏藥。治療後出現的不適通常是暫時的,會隨著您的身體完成自我修復而改善。

運動及其他治療

如果治療師教導了一些幫助康復的動作,請從治療後的第二天開始練習。在身體完全康復之前,請避免碰撞或劇烈運動。如有計劃接受其他物理療法,請與博恩治療至少相隔 5 天,以避免自癒過程受到干擾。

頜骨治療

如果您剛接受完博恩治療的頜骨療程,請在治療後至少 24 小時內避免張口大咬堅硬或耐嚼的食物 (例如蘋果、牛排、堅果、冰等)。

常規建議

以下是一些有助保持結構平衡、改善健康、防止受傷或再受傷的常規建議: 

姿勢習慣

姿勢保持平衡可防止背部及骨盆區域緊張。站立時,將體重均勻地放在雙腳上,避免向一側傾斜或將重量壓在臀部。如需要長時間站立,則盡量平衡體重,保持背部自然豎直及骨盆處於中立位置,膝蓋放鬆,不要鎖死或將重量壓在膝蓋上。坐下時,不要交叉雙腿或將任何物品放入後袋,因為交叉雙腿或坐在某個物件上 (如錢包或手機) 容易導致骨盆傾斜,從而影響您的身體結構、機能及康復過程。

上車及下車

對於背部或骨盆有問題的人,在上下車時盡量將雙膝併攏,以保持骨盆平衡及減少該區域受壓。上車時,您可以先將臀部坐在座椅上,然後雙腿併攏擺進車內,避免先以單腿踏入;下車時,雙腿併攏向外擺出並同時著地,避免先以單腿踏出。

提起或推拉重物

如果您需要拿起重物,請彎曲膝蓋,盡量保持腰背挺直,不要過度伸展或扭曲身體。舉起物件前先讓身體貼靠,提起時收緊腹部肌肉。澳洲安全工作協會 (Safe Work Australia) 有一個詳細的 職業安全指引 ,關於如何提起及推拉重物;他們還提供了 業務守則 (2011年版) ,讓大家了解危險手動工作的注意事項。您亦可以參考西雪梨大學 (Western Sydney University) 編寫的 職業健康及安全指引 (2017年版) ,也是關於如何提起及推拉重物的。

辦公室設置

無論您是在家辦公還是在公司上班,設置符合人體工學的工作環境可以降低勞損及工傷風險,其中包括選擇合適的桌椅、電腦、屏幕、鼠標、鍵盤、燈光、耳機及腳凳等。你可以參考由 Comcare Australia 提供的 工作站設置指南 ,或觀看由 WorkSafe Queensland 製作的 短片視頻 ,這視頻也是關於如何設置工作站的。

枕頭與床墊

我們常常建議有肌肉骨骼痛症的人士檢查他們的枕頭和床墊是否合適。由於我們每天大約有三分之一的時間躺在床上,我們的枕頭、床墊,甚至床架都會對我們的脊柱排列造成影響。枕頭和床墊的設計和軟硬度應該要能支撐我們身體的壓力點 (見 圖一) 以及使我們的脊柱保持在一條直線上並處於中正位置 (見 圖二). 

健康生活

養成一個 健康的生活習慣 能夠預防慢性健康問題及長期疾病。除了要 飲食均衡戒煙節制酒精攝取 以及 控制體重 外,良好的 睡眠質量 也是促進休息和體質恢復的最重要元素之一。因此,養成 良好的睡眠習慣 尤為重要。

飲食與營養

在整個生命過程中,保持健康飲食有助預防營養不良及一系列非傳染性疾病問題。這本 澳洲健康飲食指南 提供了詳細的飲食建議,包括維持健康所需要攝取的食物種類和份量。您也可以參考世界衛生組織 (WHO) 的 健康飲食便覽 。對於那些無法單靠食物獲得所需營養的人, 營養補充品 或許能輔助營養吸收。如果您有任何這方面的顧慮,請諮詢您的醫生或營養師。

健身與運動

健身與運動 是支持我們身心健康的另一個關鍵因素。在眾多有益的鍛煉選項中, 步行, 游泳, 太極, 瑜珈及普拉提 是最普及的復康和身心平衡運動。你可以選擇 團體訓練 或適合您健康需求和狀況的個人鍛鍊。如果您被要求自我隔離, Walk at Home 居家步行 可能是一個實用且可持續的替代方案。

繁體中文

Treatment Advice

Before Treatment

Below is a brief guideline about what to know and prepare before attending your Bowen session.

What to Bring

You will need to fill out a client information form on your first visit, so please prepare your personal details plus information about your presenting symptom(s) and/or medical condition(s), including any relevant report, scan and/or medication details. If you are eligible for Seniors Discount, please bring your NSW Seniors Card or Senior Savers Card and present it to your practitioner. If you use our service under NDIS, please provide your NDIS number and the signed Service Agreement with your Plan Manager if your NDIS is plan-managed. Please also prepare your method of payment.

What to Wear

Bowen Therapy can be done directly on skin or through light clothing. If you choose to be treated on skin, please wear modest underwear. You will be covered with towels during the treatment. If treated through light clothing, please ensure your clothing is comfortably loose and/or stretchy. Please avoid wearing jeans or other thick/ tight/ slippery materials as these may affect the effectiveness of treatment.

What to Know

We recommend you to have some snacks and plain water 30 to 60 minutes prior to your appointment. A stomach that is too empty or too full may make you feel sick after treatment as the healing process stimulated by the Bowen moves consumes your body’s energy. If your appointment is after a meal, make sure you reserve enough time for digestion. You may find all the necessary information from our FAQ page including how the treatment is performed and how you might feel during and after a treatment. Please have a good read before coming to your appointment.

After Treatment

After your Bowen treatment, you may experience different reactions in your body. Below are recommendations of what you should and shouldn’t do after your treatment. 

Possible Reactions

Bowen Therapy may initiate a structural correction during the healing process. Occasionally, some people may experience sensations such as fatigue, headaches, heat or brief shivers, stiffness, occasional sharp pain, or emotional feelings. Such reactions are usually brief and are positive signs that the body is undergoing necessary adjustment. There is no cause for alarm if you have any of these experience. If you are uncertain, please contact your practitioner.

Mobility and Movement

To support rehabilitation, please maintain muscle flexibility by getting mobile regularly and do not sit for longer than 30 minutes at a time. You may have some short and gentle walk daily (preferably on flat ground to ensure pelvic alignment.) As you move, try to balance yourself properly to minimise the chances of re-injury. 

Water Consumption

Drinking enough water to keep your muscles and connective tissues hydrated is an important part of promoting recovery after treatment. The recommended daily amount for an adult is around two litres (more if you are active or exposed to heat; less if you are a child or have a medical condition that cannot get rid of water from the body as efficiently, e.g. chronic kidney disease, liver disease, heart failure etc.) Stress, air-conditioning, and drinking tea, coffee or alcohol can dehydrate us and should be taken into account. 

Extreme Temperature

Please avoid the extreme of heat or cold (e.g. sauna, spa, hot showers, electric blanket, heat/cold pack, ice etc.) for at least 48 hours after treatment as the temperature variances may interfere with the healing process. If you experience soreness or pain, please do not apply heat inducing creams. The discomfort is usually temporary and will improve as your body completes adjusting itself.

Sports and Bodyworks

Start the exercise(s) given by the practitioner (if any) the day after treatment. Avoid contact sports or strenuous exercise until full recovery and schedule other bodywork appointments (if any) at least 5 days after your Bowen treatment. This is to avoid any interference with the healing processes that Bowen Therapy has introduced.

Jaw Treatments

If you have had a jaw treatment, please do not open your mouth wide to bite or eat hard and chewy foods (e.g. apples, steak, nuts, ice etc.) for at least 24 hours following your treatment.

General Advice

Below are some general advice that may help support body alignment, improve health and prevent injury or re-injury. 

Posture and Gait

Maintain a balanced posture to prevent your back and your pelvic region from straining. As you stand, take your weight evenly on both feet and avoid leaning to one side or slouching on your hip. When prolong standing is required, try to balance your body weight, keep your back straight and your pelvis in neutral position, relax your knees and do not lock them or put your weight on them. As you sit, do not cross your legs or put any item in your back pocket. Crossing legs or sitting on an object may create a pelvic imbalance and compensate your healing process.

Entering or Alighting from a Car

For people who have back or pelvic problems, try to keep both knees together as much as practicable as you enter or alight from a car. Instead of stepping one leg in or out, you may place your backside on the seat first and swing legs in together when entering; and swing the legs out and place both feet on the ground together when alighting. This is to minimise the strain on your pelvic region.

Lifting, Pushing and Pulling

If you need to pick up a heavy object, bend your knees and do not overreach or twist your body. Move close to the object prior to lifting and tighten the stomach muscles as you lift. Safe Work Australia has a detailed Guideline about Lifting, Pushing and Pulling (Manual Tasks). You may also refer to the Code of Practice (Dec 2011) for Hazardous Manual Tasks by Safe Work Australia, or the WHS Fact Sheet (Nov 2017) for Lifting, Pushing and Pulling Safely by Western Sydney University.

Office Ergonomics

Whether you work from home or in the office, setting up an ergonomic workstation can mitigate the risk of work-related strain injury. Elements to consider may include a suitable chair, desk, computer, monitor(s), mouse, keyboard, lighting, headset and footrest. You may refer to the Workstation Setup Guide by Comcare Australia or watch this video about How To Set Up Your Workstation created by WorkSafe Queensland.

Pillow and Mattress

We often advise our clients who come with musculoskeletal complaints to check the suitability of their pillows and mattresses. As we spend about 1/3 of our time on bed every day, our pillow and mattress (even the base) can affect our spinal alignment significantly. An appropriate design and firmness of our pillow and mattress should be able to support the pressure points of our body (see pic.1) and to keep our spine in line and in neutral position (see pic.2). 

Healthy Living

Living a healthy lifestyle can help prevent chronic diseases and long-term illnesses. Besides having a balanced diet, quitting smoking, limiting alcohol consumption and weight control, quality sleep is one of the most important components for rest and recovery. Developing good sleep habits is therefore crucial and highly beneficial.

Diet and Nutrition

Consuming a healthy diet throughout the life-course helps prevent malnutrition as well as a range of noncommunicable diseases and conditions. The Australian Dietary Guidelines provide up-to-date advice about the amount and kinds of foods we need to eat for health and wellbeing. You may also refer to the Healthy Diet Fact Sheet by WHO. To those who have difficulty in getting the necessary nutrients through diet alone, dietary supplements may be helpful. Always check with your doctor or a dietitian if you have any concern.

Fitness and Exercise

Fitness and exercise is another key element that supports our physical and mental wellbeing. Among many good training options, walking, swimming, Tai Chi, Yoga and Pilates are the most common types for rehabilitation and body balance. You may choose a group exercise and/or an individual practice that suits your health needs and condition. If you are required to self-isolate, Walk at Home may be a practical and sustainable alternative.

English (Australia)